

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE December 4, 2017 Contact: Ellen R. Weiss eweiss@biophysics.org

Biophysical Society Announces Winners of 2018 Committee for Inclusion and Diversity Travel Awards

Rockville, MD— The Biophysical Society has announced the winner of its Committee for Inclusion and Diversity (CID) Travel Awards to attend the Biophysical Society's 62nd Annual Meeting at the Moscone Center in San Francisco, California, February 17-21, 2018. The awards are intended to encourage participation at the Biophysical Society Annual Meeting by students and postdoctoral fellows underrepresented in the biomedical sciences currently studying biophysics. Recipients will be honored at a reception on Saturday, February 21.

The 2018 recipients of the CID Travel Award are:

Lucila Acevedo, Cornell University, TUNING A PROLYL CIS/TRANS MOLECULAR SWITCH THAT REGULATES LATERAL ROOT DEVELOPMENT IN RICE

Eduardo Anaya, University of New Mexico, DIFFERENTIAL SIGNALING AND CROSS-TALK OF DECTIN-1A AND -1B AFTER ACTIVATION WITH SOLUBLE β GLUCANS

Philip Belzeski, Boise State University, CONTROL OF MEMBRANE PERMEABILITY VIA VOLTAGE REGULATED LYSENIN CHANNELS

Xavier Bonner, Morehouse College, ANALYSIS OF RELATIVE BINDING AFFINITY PREDICTIONS FOR PROTEIN-PROTEIN COMPLEXES

Brandon Brown, University of California, Davis, MECHANISM OF GATING OF THE INTERMEDIATE-CONDUCTANCE CALCIUM-ACTIVATED POTASSIUM CHANNEL (KCA3.1)

Giancarlo Bruni, University of Colorado Boulder, DECIPHERING THE ROLE OF BACTERIAL ELECTROPHYSIOLOGY IN MECHANOSENSATION

Keyon Carter, James Madison University, SPECTROSCOPIC STUDIES OF BUFFER AND METAL ION EFFECTS ON AMYLOID-BETA PEPTIDE STRUCTURE AND AGGREGATION

Blanca Diaz-Rohrer, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, MOLECULAR MECHANISM OF MICRODOMAIN DEPENDENT PROTEIN TRAFFICKING

OFFICERS

President Lukas Tamm University of Virginia

President-Elect Angela Gronenborn University of Pittsburgh

Past-President Suzanne Scarlata Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Secretary Frances Separovic University of Melbourne

Treasurer Kalina Hristova Johns Hopkins University

Executive Officer Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

COUNCIL

Zev Bryant Jane Clarke Bertrand Garcia-Moreno Teresa Giraldez Ruben Gonzalez, Jr. Ruth Heidelberger Robert Nakamoto Arthur Palmer Gabriela Popescu Marina Ramirez-Alvarado Erin Sheets Joanna Swain

BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief Jane Dyson

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Awards Betsy Komives Early Careers Bert Tanner Education Gina MacDonald Finance Kalina Hristova Inclusion and Diversity Marina Ramirez-Alvarado International Relations Daumantas Matulis

Member Services Frances Separovic Membership

Juliette Lecomte Nominating Art Palmer

Professional Opportunities for Women (CPOW)

Gabriela Popescu

Public Affairs Edward Egelman

Publications Olaf Anderson

Thematic Meetings Richard Aldrich Jonathan Eicher, Humboldt State University, DETERMINATION OF 3D AMOEBOID MIGRATION FORCE THROUGH UTILIZATION OF ACTUATED SURFACE ATTACHED POSTS

Noa Erlitzki, Georgia State University, STRUCTURE-HYDRATION RELATIONSHIPS IN DNA MINOR GROOVE BINDING

Ololade Fatunmbi, University of Pennsylvania, MOLECULAR MECHANISMS OF PROTEIN-LIPID INTERACTIONS AND INDUCED CURVATURE REGULATING CYTOSKELETAL ASSEMBLY

Hana Grubb, Valencia College, INVESTIGATING THE INTERACTIONS BETWEEN VEGFR2 AND EGFR

Florencia Monge, University of New Mexico, PHENYLENE ETHYNYLENE BASED SENSORS FOR THE SELECTIVE DETECTION OF TAU PATHOLOGY

Francisco Padron, University of Illinois at Chicago, A RIGHT-HANDED COILED COIL TETRAMER TO INDUCE CELL ARREST IN PROSTATIC CARCINOMA CELLS

Perla Pena Palomino, Indiana University, STRUCTURAL STUDIES OF C1QL-MEDIATED COMPLEXES

Keely Redhage, Mayo Clinic, CARDIAC LIGHT CHAIN AMYLOIDOSIS: UNDERSTANDING THE IMPLICATIONS OF CELLULAR TOXICITY IN A 3D MODEL

Gaddiel Rodriguez, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, CHARACTERIZING THE ENHANCED NANOSCALE TRANSLOCATION PROPERTIES OF HUNG2 FACILITATED BY ITS DISORDERED N-TERMINAL DOMAIN IN VITRO AND IN HUMAN CELLS

Noah Schenk, University of Michigan, SUPPORTED TUBULATED BILAYERS: A NOVEL SYSTEM FOR EVALUATING PROTEIN-MEDIATED MEMBRANE REMODELING

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its 9000 members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry. For more information on these awards, the Society, or the 2018 Annual Meeting, visit <u>www.biophysics.org</u>.